Himachal Pradesh

Himachal Pradesh names comes from Sanskrit word “HIMa”. Hima means snow in Sanskrit, and the literal meaning of the state's name is "In the lap of Himalayas".
Himachal Pradesh, a northern Indian state in the Himalayas. Its area is 21,495 sq mi (55,670 km2), and is bordered by Himachal Pradesh on the north, Punjab on the west, Haryana on the south-west, Uttarakhand on the south-east and by the Tibet Autonomous Region on the east. Himachal Pradesh is known for its trekking, climbing and skiing, and scenic mountain towns and resorts such as Dalhousie as well as famous for its abundant natural beauty. Host to the Dalai Lama, Himachal Pradesh also has a strong Tibetan presence, reflected in its Buddhist temples and monasteries, cuisine heavy on noodles and dumplings, and vibrant Tibetan New Year celebrations.

Himachal Pradesh is spread across valleys, and 90% of the population lives in villages and towns. However, the state has achieved 100% hygiene and practically no single house is without a toilet. The villages are well connected to roads, public health centers, and now with Lokmitra kendra using high-speed broadband. Shimla district has maximum urban population of 25%. According to a 2005 Transparency International survey, Himachal Pradesh is ranked the second-least corrupt state in the country after Kerala.

Hinduism is the main religion in Himachal Pradesh, which ranks first in India in terms of the proportion of Hindus present within it. More than 95% of the total population belongs to the Hindu faith, the distribution of which is evenly spread throughout the state. Himachal Pradesh thushas the one of the highest proportion of Hindu population in India (95.17%).

Other religions that form a small percentage are Buddhism and Sikhism. The Lahaulis of Lahaul and Spiti region are mainly Buddhists. Sikhs mostly live in towns and cities and constitute 1.16% of the state population. For example, they form 10% of the population in Una District adjoining the state of Punjab and 17% in Shimla, the state capital. The Buddhists constitute 1.15% are mainly natives and tribals from Lahaul and Spiti, where they form majority of 60% and Kinnaur where they form 40%, however the bulk are refugees from Tibet. The Muslims constitute slightly 2.18% of the population of Himachal Pradesh.

Muslims are mainly present in the Chamba and Solan districts, whilst the minority Buddhist population primarily resides in the Lahul & Sapiti and Kinnour districts. The tiny Catholic minority has its own Roman Catholic Diocese of Simla and Chandigarh, which has its cathedral see in Simla and a co-cathedral in Chandigarh.

State Animal 

Snow Leopard

State Bird 

Western Tragopan

State Flower 

Pink Rhododendron

State Language 

Hindi & Local Dialects

Major Rivers 

Sutlej,  Beas, Ravi, Parbati

Major Lakes

Renuka, Rewalsar, Khajjiar, Dal, Beas Kund, Dasaur, Brighu, Prashar, Mani Mahesh, Chander Tal, Suraj Tal, Kareri, Sreolsar, Gobind Sagar, Nako

Districts of Himachal Pradesh - Himachala has 12 Districts, 4 Divisions, 62 Sub Divisions, 144 tehsils, 78 Blocks, 3243                                                                                                          Panchayats, 59 Towns, 12 Zila Parisad, 1 Nagar Nigam and 25 Nagar Parisads.



Hamirpur Kangra
Kinnaur Kullu Lahaul and Spiti Mandi
Shimla Sirmaur Solan Una

Himachal Pradesh has 4 Lok Sabha, 3 Rajya Sabha and 68 Assembly Constituencies .

Parliamentary Constituencies in Himachal Pradesh      
Himachal Pradesh map