Timeline of Jharkhand


1765 - Successful military mobilization to bring Santhal Pargana under British rule.

1772-80 - Paharia revolt.

1780-85 - Tilka Manjhi led the tribal revolt and managed to injure British army chief.

1785 - Tilka Manjhi hanged to death in Bhagalpur.

1795-1800 - Tamar revolt.

1797 - Munda revolt under the leadership of Vishnu manaki.

1798 - Chaur revolt in Birbhum Bankura.

1798-99 - Bhoomij revolt of Manbhoom.

1800-02 - Munda revolt under the stewardship of Dukhan Manaki of Tamar.

1819-20 - Munda revolt in Palamu under the leadeship of Bhukan Singh.

1832-33 - Khewar revolt under the leadership of Bhagirath, Dubai Gosai and Patel Singh.

1833-34 - Bhumij revolt under the leadership of Ganga narain of Birbum.

1855 - Santhals waged war against the permanent settlement of Lord Cornwallis.

1855-60 - During late 1850’s Sidhu had accumulated about Ten Thousands Santhals to run parallel govt. against British rule. The basic purpose was to collect taxes by making his own laws. British govt. had announced an award of Rs. Ten Thousand to arrest Sidhu and his brother Kanhu. This movement remained very active in Kahalgaon and Raniganj.

1856 - Police brigade was constituted.

1856-57 - Martyr Sahid Lal, Vishwanath Shahdeo, Sheikh Bhikhari, Ganptrai and Budhu Veer led a movement against the British gov. in the sepoy mutiny.

1874-99 - This period is famous for Birsa movement.

1874 - Kherwar movement shot into fame under the leadership of Bhagirathi manjhi.

1881 - Kherwar movement started.

1895-1900 - Launching of ULGLAN under the leadership of Birsa.

1912 - Bihar bifurcated from Bengal and some parts of Chotanagpur merged into Bengal.

1913 - Constitution of Chotnagpur unati samaj.

1914 - Tana Bhajgat movement started which had the participation of more than 26000 tribals.

1915 - Publication of Adivasi titled magazine started.

1929 - Simon commission presented with a memorandum which demanded the information of Jharkhand state

1936 - Orissa was created as a separate state.

1947 - On Dec. 28 All India Jharkhand Party came into inception.

1951 - Jharkhand party was elected to Vidhan Sabha as a main opposition party.

1969 - Shibu Soren founded the Sonat Santahl Samaj.

1971 - A.K.Roy founded the Marxist M.C.C to demand the separate Jharkhand state.

1973 - N.E.Horo named his party as Jharkhand Party and on March 12th he presented the then Prime Minister a memorandum for separate Jharkhand state.

1977 - Jharkhand party proposed for separate Jharkhand state which included not only Chotanagpur and Santhal Pargana of Bihar but adjoining area of Bengal.

1978 - The convention of All India Jharkhand Party was held on May 21.

1980 - Establishment of Jharkhand Kranti Dal.

1986 September 25 - All Jharkhand Students Union gave its first call for Jharkhand bandh , it was a huge success.

1987 - Call for boycott of Independence day . The home minister of India directed the bihar government to prepare a report on detailed profile of all districts of Chotnagpur and Santhal Pargana.

1989 - 72 hours of economic blockade by AJSU was total success.

1989 - 6 days of economic blockade by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha was success.

1994 - On Jan 6 Laloo Prasad Yadav declared in Ranchi that Jharkhand devlopment autnomous council bill will be passed in budget session.

1995 - Jharkhand area autonomous council was formed which comprised of 18 districts of Santhal Pargana and Chotnagpur and Shibu Soren was nominated as the Chairman.

1997 June - Bihar government sanctioned 24 Crores for conducting the elections of Jharkhand Autonomous Council.

1997, July - Shibu Soren offered support to minority government of Laloo Prasad Yadav with a condition of a separate Jharkhand bill in the assembly.

2000, August, 2 - The bill to create a separate state of Jharkhand to be carved out of Bihar was passed in Lok Sabha by voice with two key allies of ruling NDA strongly opposing the measure and the opposition Rashtriya Janta Dal and the CPI - M demanding it to be referred to a parliamentary committee. The long cherished demand of people of the region was fulfilled, the celebration is on through out the Jharkhand region.

2000, August, 11 - Parliament today approved the formation of Jharkhand when the Rajya Sabha passed by voice - vote the Bihar reorganisation bill 2000 to carve out the new state out of Bihar's northern region.

2000, August, 25 - President Mr. K.R. Narayanan approved the Bihar reorganisation bill 2000.

2000, October, 12 - The center has issued the gazette notification starting November 15 to be the appointed date for the formation of new Jharkhand Government.



Back to Jharkhand Home