About India States of India Hindi Literature Religion Art & Culture About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy

Ladakh : Union territorie

Ladakh is a Union territory without a legislature.

Ladakh consists one division: Ladakh. Previously it was part of Jammu and Kashmir. Ladakh is a Union territorie in northern India. It is located mostly in the Himalayan mountains, and shares a border with the states of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab to the south. Ladakh has an international border with China in the north and east, and the Line of Control separates it from the Pakistan-controlled territories of Kashmir and Gilgit–Baltistan in the west and northwest respectively. The state has special autonomy under Ladakh, also known as "Little Tibet", is renowned for its remote mountain beauty and Buddhist culture. Ladakh is the only Union territorie in India with a Buddhist-majority population.

Districts of Ladakh

Kargil Leh

Culture of Ladakh

Ladakh is famous for its Buddhist philosophies and has involved composite culture based on the values of humanism and tolerance.



Culture of Ladakh is famous for its unique Indo-Tibetan culture. Chanting in Sanskrit and Tibetan language forms an integral part of Ladakh's Buddhist lifestyle. Annual masked dance festivals, weaving and archery are an important part of traditional life in Ladakh. Ladakhi food has much in common with Tibetan food, the most prominent foods being thukpa, noodle soup; and tsampa, known in Ladakhi as Ngampe, roasted barley flour. Typical garb includes gonchas of velvet, elaborately embroidered waistcoats and boots, and gonads or hats. People, adorned with gold and silver ornaments and turquoise headgears throng the streets during various Ladakhi festivals.

Read more!